21 Projects Approved By The Home Ministry Under 12 MP

By: Fahri Ahmed
28th Feb 2022
Property News

Under the 12th Malaysia Plan (12 MP), Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin, Minister of Home Affairs, announced 21 projects worth RM 558.7 million according to The Star. The Minister made the announcement at a press conference after attending the ground-breaking ceremony of PDRM Task Force Office and Training Centre construction. The event took place on 10 January 2022 at the GOF 4th Battalion Camp.

What is the 12th Malaysia Plan (12 MP)?

The 12th Malaysia Plan (12 MP) is a development roadmap presented by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakon on 27 September 2021. The initiative aims to empower Malaysia in three dimensions – economic empowerment, environmental sustainability, and social re-engineering of the nation.

According to Daily Express, the Prime Minister allocates RM 400 billion to the cause so that he can build a better ecosystem and infrastructure in Malaysia. He promises to reduce bureaucracy along the way to draw in foreign investments while simultaneously developing better business and job opportunities, supporting the gig economy, for the locals.

On achieving the target, Malaysia’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is expected to grow between 4.5% to 5.5% on average from 2021 to 2025 as per reports by New Straits Times (NST). The Prime Minister further exclaims that on successful execution of 12 MP, the average household income of Malaysians will reach RM 10,000 by 2025.

What are the 21 projects approved by the Home Ministry?

The 21 projects approved by the Home Ministry mainly involve developing security and law enforcement departments.

10 projects are assigned for Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) development.

10 out of the 21 projects approved are developments under the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM), amounting to RM 326.8 million.

The projects involve constructing:

  • 18 General Operation Force (GOF) posts in Selangor.
  • Kuala Penyu police station in Beaufort, Sabah.
  • 10 staff quarters for Pulau Redang police station in Terengganu.

Apart from that, the money will also go into acquiring the land for building Kelantan and Perak police contingent headquarters.

11 projects are assigned for other agencies under the Ministry.

The agencies responsible for the remaining 11 projects include:

  1. The Immigration Department

    Two immigration posts and staff quarters will be developed in Telok Melano and Bau. The Department will also utilise the money on the development of the Immigration, Customs, Quarantine, and Security Complex in Tebedu, Sarawak.

  2. Prisons Department

    For this department, the projects are focused on the construction of the Royal Pahang Weaving Training Complex at the Penor Prison in Pahang. They will also upgrade the condition of the inmate isolation centre, transit block, and residential block at the Simpang Renggam Prison in Johor.

  3. Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA)

    For this department, they will upgrade the shooting range at Sultan Ahmad Shah Academy in Pahang.

  4. Eastern Sabah Security Command (ESSCOM)

    The project for ESSCOM aims to build 3 posts, each at Manalunan, Simanggaris, and Kuala Meruap in Sabah.

The government hopes to build a better enforcement and security system with these projects, building a stronger backbone in safeguarding the nation.

Browse other news